It has begun

The so-called "Copyright Modernization Act" was debated in the House of Commons yesterday. The debate started at about 10:20, broke for Statements by Members and Question period (14:00-15:05), and resumed until 5:30.

Quite a few members of parliament had things to say about Bill C-32, and I will provide some of my own highlights and commentary later. The Minister of Industry and Heritage spoke for the Conservatives, 8 Liberals, 2 Bloc, and 9 NDP members spoke on this first day of debate.

Hon. Tony Clement (Minister of Industry, Parry Sounds - Muskoka, CPC)
Hon. James Moore (Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, Port Moody—Westwood—Port Coquitlam, CPC)

Mrs. Bonnie Crombie (Mississauga—Streetsville, Lib.) 
Mr. Scott Simms (Bonavista—Gander—Grand Falls—Windsor, Lib.)
Hon. Larry Bagnell (Yukon, Lib.)
Mr. Marc Garneau (Westmount—Ville-Marie, Lib.)
Hon. Dan McTeague (Pickering—Scarborough East, Lib.) 
Mr. Rodger Cuzner (Cape Breton—Canso, Lib.)
Hon. Joseph Volpe (Eglinton—Lawrence, Lib.) 
Mr. Mario Silva (Davenport, Lib.)

Mrs. Carole Lavallée (Saint-Bruno—Saint-Hubert, BQ)
Mr. Bernard Bigras (Rosemont—La Petite-Patrie, BQ)

Mr. Charlie Angus (Timmins—James Bay, NDP)
Ms. Linda Duncan (Edmonton—Strathcona, NDP)
Ms. Olivia Chow (Trinity—Spadina, NDP) 
Mr. Jim Maloway (Elmwood—Transcona, NDP) 
Mr. Bill Siksay (Burnaby—Douglas, NDP)
Mr. Peter Julian (Burnaby—New Westminster, NDP)
Mrs. Carol Hughes (Algoma—Manitoulin—Kapuskasing, NDP)
Mr. Brian Masse (Windsor West, NDP) 
Mr. Glenn Thibeault (Sudbury, NDP)