Important MPs

MPs with positions relevant to copyright reform

This page is an attempt to identify the most relevant MPs from
the perspective of copyright reform. If you are a constituent for
one of these MPs, you can help ensure that they are well-educated
on the issues.

Canadian Heritage

Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage (CHPC)

Minister - Hon. Liza Frulla, Jeanne-Le Ber (Quebec)

Parliamentary Secretary and Committee Member - Hon. Sarmite Bulte, Parkdale--High Park (Ontario)

Conservative Critic and Committee Member - Bev Oda, Clarington-Scugog-Uxbridge (Ontario)

NDP Critic and Committee Member - Charlie Angus, Timmins-James Bay (Ontario)

Bloc Critic and Committee Vice-chair - Maka Kotto, Saint-Lambert (Quebec)

Committee Member - Gord Brown, Leeds-Grenville (Ontario)

Committee Chair - Marlene Catterall, Ottawa West-Nepean (Ontario)

Committee Member - Wajid Khan, Mississauga-Streetsville (Ontario)

Committee Member - Marc Lemay, Abitibi-Témiscamingue (Quebec)

Committee Member - Deepak Obhrai, Calgary East (Alberta)

Committee Member - Pablo Rodriguez, Honoré-Mercier (Quebec)

Committee Vice-chair - Gary Schellenberger, Perth-Wellington (Ontario)

Committee Member - Scott Simms, Bonavista-Exploits (Newfoundland and Labrador)

Industry Canada

Standing Committee on Industry, Natural Resources, Science and Technology (INDU)

Minister - Hon. David Emerson, Vancouver Kingsway (BC)

Parliamentary Secretary and Committee Member - Hon. Jerry Pickard, Chatham Kent Essex (Ontario)

Conservative Critic - James Rajotte, Edmonton-Leduc (Alberta)

NDP Critic and Committee Member - Brian Masse, Windsor West (Ontario)

Bloc Critic, Committee vice-chair - Paul Crête, Rivière-du-Loup—Montmagny (Quebec)

Committee Member - Serge Cardin, Sherbrooke (Quebec)

Committee Member - Michael Chong, Wellington-Halton Hills (Ontario)

Committee Member - Hon. Denis Coderre, Bourassa (Quebec)

Committee Member - John Duncan, Vancouver Island North (BC)

Committee Member - Lynn Myers, Kitchener-Conestoga (Ontario)

Committee Member - Andy Savoy, Tobique-Mactaquac (New Brunswick)

Committee vice chair - Werner Schmidt, Kelowna (BC)

Committee Chair - Brent St. Denis, Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing (Ontario)

Committee Member - Bradley R. Trost, Saskatoon-Humboldt (Saskatchewan)

Treasury Board

President - Hon. Reginald B. Alcock, Winnipeg South (Manitoba)

Conservative Critic - Guy Lauzon, Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry (Ontario)

NDP Critic - Peter Julian, Burnaby-New Westminster (BC)

Bloc Critic - Benoît Sauvageau, Repentigny (Quebec)

International Trade

Minister - Hon. Jim Peterson, Willowdale (Ontario)

Parliamentary Secretary - Hon. Mark Eyking, Sydney Victoria (Nova Scotia)

Conservative Critic - Ted Menzies, Macleod (Alberta)

NDP Critic - Peter Julian, Burnaby-New Westminster (BC)

Bloc Critic - Pierre Paquette, Joliette (Quebec)

International Cooperation

Minister - Hon. Aileen Carroll, Barrie (Ontario)

Parliamentary Secretary - Hon. Paddy Torsney, Burlington (Ontario)

Conservative Critic - Helena Guergis, Simcoe–Grey (Ontario)

Bloc Critic - Diane Bourgeois, Terrebonne—Blainville (Quebec)


Going to the House of Commons list of MPs you can go to each member's page and then to "Federal Political Experience". On that page, under "Parliamentary Functions", you can see whether they are (or have been) critic, minister, parliamentary secretary, etc.

Side note - it does look like this could be automated. This is also a way to find committee memberships.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Committee memberships

I updated the main article with committee memberships from
[Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage |] and [Standing Committee on Industry, Natural Resources, Science and Technology |].

More updates..

Removed a link to someone that wasn't a member of Heritage. Added in links to out per-riding taxonomy for the Heritage and Industry committee members.

Free/Libre and Open Source Software (FLOSS) consultant.