Candidates previously on Industry Committee

While I was not invited to speak to the members of Heritage committee on copyright reform, I was able to talk to the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology on May 4, 2004. The invited me in to talk about Bill C-2.

The topic was Satellite television reception, but bill had much of the same language and would likely have the same unintended consequences as the Legal protection for Digital Rights Management (DRM) discussed in the WIPO treaties. I hope to have the members of Heritage committee read the transcript from my intervention with Industry committee.

Those who have read the transcript were quite impressed with how committee members present were asking questions that showed that they were listening. I wish to draw particular attention to Mr. James Rajotte (Edmonton Southwest, CPC) and Mr. Brian Masse (Windsor West, NDP) who are the Industry critics for the Conservative party and the NDP.

Members of the Committee present:

* Gérard Binet - Liberal party candidate for: Mégantic--L'Érable
* Hon. David Collenette -
not running
* Brian Masse - NDP candidate for: Windsor West
* James Rajotte - Conservative candidate for: Edmonton--Leduc
* Andy Savoy - Liberal candidate for: Tobique–Mactaquac
* Carol Skelton - Conservative candidate for: Saskatoon–Rosetown–Biggar
* Brent St. Denis - Liberal candidate for: Algoma--Manitoulin--Kapuskasing
* Hon. Lyle Vanclief. - not running