Desnethé - Missinippi - Churchill River

Past MP for Desnethé - Missinippi - Churchill River

Current Member of Parliament for Desnethé-Missinippi-Churchill River / Desnethé - Missinippi - Rivière Churchill

Name: Mr. Gary Merasty

e-Mail: <>

Party: Liberal Party of Canada

Gender: Male

MP Prior to 2006 election: Jeremy Harrison

By-elections results

Desnethé–Missinippi–Churchill River: Rob Clarke (Conservative) with 47.8% of vote

Toronto Centre: Bob Rae (Liberal) with 59.2% of vote

Vancouver Quadra: Joyce Murray (Liberal) with 36.1% of vote

Willowdale: Martha Hall Findlay (Liberal) with 59.3% of vote

See elections Canada, 2008 By-elections for more details.

Meeting with MPs and nominated candidates.

One of the things I often say in interviews is that Copyright is not a partisan issue in Canada, that you can't focus on parties, and that the issue comes down to the personal experience and ideas of individual representatives. Given this it is important to talk to sitting members of parliament, as well as candidates running to replace them.

By-elections will be held on Monday March 17, 2008

On Friday, Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced that by-elections will be held on Monday March 17, 2008 in the ridings of Toronto Centre (Ontario), Willowdale (Ontario), Vancouver Quadra (British Columbia) and Desnethé-Missnippi-Churchill River (Saskatchewan).

MPs Not Running In Next Election: 25

According to the Hill Times, the following current MPs will not be running in next election. There are 7 vacancies expected by end of summer, with 5 after byelection. Many believe that narrow partisan reasons were used to not call the remaining 5 byelections to happen at the same time.

Election 2006: Churchill River

Election 2006: Please add comments to discuss riding specific activities, links to candidate information, etc.

Incumbent information

Churchill River / Rivière Churchill
MP: Jeremy Harrison (Parliamentary Internet)

Syndicate content