Election 2008: Past members of Heritage committee

  • Gary Schellenberger (Perth—Wellington, Conservative, Chair) re-elected
  • Maria Mourani (Ahuntsic, Bloc, co-chair) re-elected
  • Andy Scott (Liberal, co-chair) did not run
  • Jim Abbott (Kootenay—Columbia, Conservative) re-elected
  • Michael D. Chong (Wellington—Halton Hills, Conservative) re-elected
  • Dean Del Mastro (Peterborough, Conservative) re-elected
  • Denis Coderre (Bourassa, Liberal) re-elected
  • Ed Fast (Abbotsford, Consrvative) re-elected
  • Hedy Fry (Vancouver Centre, Liberal) re-elected
  • Luc Malo (Verchères—Les Patriotes, Bloc) re-elected
  • Bill Siksay (Burnaby—Douglas, NDP) re-elected
  • Francis Scarpaleggia (Lac-Saint-Louis, Liberal) re-elected

Minutes of special meeting on cuts to arts program posted

The minutes and transcript from the special August 26, 2008 to "discuss the recent cancelling of federal cultural financial assistance programs" are online.

This meeting was held when everyone pretty much knew an election would be called. This should be read as an election debate on federal government funding of cultural programs from some key politicians running for re-election. While Copyright wasn't on the agenda, it did get discussed.

Reply to constituent from Gary Schellenberger, MP

The following was sent to a constituent on 2 December 2007, via e-Mail.

Thank you for your email message of 8 December 2007 regarding the issue of copyright reform.

In the Speech from the Throne Our Government made it clear that we "will improve the protection of cultural and intellectual property rights in Canada, including copyright reform." We take this issue very seriously, and I appreciate hearing from constituents such as yourself who take an interest in this subject.

Current members of the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage (CHPC)

(Note: This is out of date. New committee not yet formed).

Copyright policy is the joint responsibility of the Minister of Canadian Heritage and the Minister of Industry. Two committees of the House of Commons are therefore the key members who are most likely to be studying this topic and related bills.

Members of the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage (CHPC)

Heritage Minister Bev Oda expected to be shuffled? If not her, then who?

According to the CTV there is a cabinet shuffle, government being prorogued, and a new Throne Speech when parliament returns. It is all speculation, and it includes suggestions that Ms. Oda would be shuffled. We might as well join the speculation: who do you think would make a good Conservative Heritage Minister, and who do you think would make an extremely bad one?

Bill C-59 debate complete (about an hour and 10 mins), bill passed.

It is now 17:00 and the debate is complete. (Hansard transcript now available) A total of 10 people spoke, including the Justice Minister (Hon. Rob Nicholson), and the Justice critics for the Liberals (Hon. Marlene Jennings), Bloc (Réal Ménard) and NDP (Joe Comartin).

Slyck: Bev Oda and Maxime Bernier Keep Their Positions

An article by Drew Wilson on Slyck talks about how the Heritage and Industry Ministers weren't changed in the recent cabinet shuffle.

I was speculating about the same issue before the shuffle, recognizing that we need to spend more time to reach the committee chairs for Heritage and Industry.

Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage receives Briefing on Copyright

One of the current activities of the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage is a Briefing on Copyright, where they have had a few meetings.

Michael Geist has blogged about the Not-So-Straight Talk on Copyright MPs are receiving.

I believe this should also be taken as an oportunity for constituents to write to MPs who are in Heritage and Industry committees prior to a bill being tabled.

Keith Dinicol (Perth - Wellington, NDP)

Dear Mr. McOrmond,

Please find attached the NDP answers to your questionnaire.

Thank you for taking the time to send us your questions.


Keith Dinicol
NDP Candidate, Perth-Wellington

Syndicate content