Portneuf - Jacques-Cartier

Election 2008: Past members of Industry committee

  • James Rajotte (Edmonton—Leduc, Conservative, chair) re-elected
  • Paule Brunelle (Trois-Rivières, Bloc, co-chair) re-elected
  • Dan McTeague (Pickering—Scarborough East, Liberal, co-chair) re-elected
  • André Arthur (Portneuf—Jacques-Cartier, Independent) re-elected
  • Scott Brison (Kings—Hants, Liberal) re-elected
  • Colin Carrie (Oshawa, Conservative) re-elected
  • Mark Eyking (Sydney—Victoria, Liberal) re-elected
  • Peggy Nash (Parkdale—High Park, NDP) lost to Liberal Gerard Kennedy
  • Raymond Simard (Saint Boniface, Liberal) lost to Conservative James Bezan
  • Bruce Stanton (Simcoe North, Conservative) re-elected
  • Dave Van Kesteren (Chatham-Kent—Essex, Conservative) re-elected
  • Robert Vincent (Shefford, Bloc) re-elected

Counterfeiting and Piracy are theft (NOT!)

As parliament was being recessed for the summer, James Rajotte stood up as the Chair of the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology to table their latest report very embarrassingly titled Counterfeiting and Piracy are theft. See Michael Geist's article Industry Committee Demands a Canadian DMCA.

While I am obviously going to send a copy of my article Jefferson Debate: A Godwin's law for copyright discussions to each member, we clearly have a lot of work ahead of us to educate members of parliament on the basics of these issues. If you are in (or live near) the riding of any of these MPs, please make sure you set up a meeting in their constituency office this summer!

Critical issue for Industry, Science and Technology committee

I sent the following letter a few moments ago. My hope is that other people will send similar letters to their own MPs:

Dear M. André Arthur,
MP for Portneuf - Jacques-Cartier

Congratulations on your appointment to the Industry, Science and Technology committee earlier this year.

I am wanting to quickly draw your attention to an issue which this committee should be dealing with when the house sits, but I am worried will go to the wrong committee. While the Copyright Act lists the "Minister of Industry" as the Minister responsible for the act, and most of the changes proposed to the copyright act regulate technology and not cultural policy, the Heritage Committee and Heritage Minister has unfortunately taken the lead. This is true of the Liberal government, and again of the Conservative government.

Election 2006: Portneuf

Election 2006: Please add comments to discuss riding specific activities, links to candidate information, etc.

Incumbent information

Portneuf / Portneuf
MP: Guy Côté (Parliamentary Internet)

Syndicate content