Commercial infringers demanding government gut laws protecting technology owners.

I sent the following to my MP and to the Minister of Industry:

Mr McGuinty, my MP for Ottawa South,
Cc: The Honourable Christian Paradis, Minister of Industry,

As you know I have spent more than a decade working on protecting technology owners from various forms of infringement of their tangible property rights. Much of the threats to property rights comes from people and organizations falsely claiming such infringements are necessary to protect their rights.

To borrow from a related phrase: One owners right to protect their property ends at my right to protect my property.

Response from Minister Paradis to email about C-11

On the 21st September, I emailed the minister about C-11. I asked specifically why the government was making it illegal to bypass the region encoding to watch the DVDs I purchased in Europe here in Canada. Here's the response I received today.

Industry Minister misinterprets "Who is Candice Hoeppner" letter.

In May I sent a Who is the Candice Hoeppner for information technology owners letter to each MP. The following reply from The Honourable Christian Paradis, P.C., M.P. indicates that he didn't understand what owner I was focused on.

The letter referenced the 4 owners (copyright owner, owner of media, software copyright holder, owner of hardware). I specifically emphasised the owner of the hardware, which is what the term "IT property rights" referenced. He misunderstood and spoke only about copyright owners.

It is critical the government understands that Bill C-32 didn't recognise or respect the rights of the owners of information technology (hardware), otherwise they will make the same mistake in any upcoming technology bills.

Semi-new cabinet

The new cabinet has been announced (CBC, pm.gc.ca). The key members of cabinet for technology law are as follows:

Christian Paradis (Mégantic--L'Érable), the previous Minister of Natural Resources, is now the Minister of Industry.

Ed Fast (Abbotsford), who was one of the MPs in the C-32 committee, is the Minister of International Trade.

James Moore (Port Moody--Westwood--Port Coquitlam) remains the Minister of Canadian Heritage, and Gary Goodyear (Cambridge) remains the Minister of State (Science and Technology).

Election 2006: Mégantic--L'Érable

Election 2006: Please add comments to discuss riding specific activities, links to candidate information, etc.

Incumbent information

Mégantic–L'Érable / Mégantic–L'Érable
MP: Marc Boulianne (Parliamentary Internet)

Syndicate content