Thoughts on C-32 committee members from the Conservative Party of Canada.

Of the 12 members of the C-32 committee, six of them were from the Conservative party of Canada. This included chair Gordon Brown (Leeds—Grenville, ON). Three members were there for almost all meetings: Mike Lake (Edmonton—Mill Woods—Beaumont, AB), Dean Del Mastro (Peterborough, ON), and Peter Braid (Kitchener—Waterloo, ON). While the other members included Sylvie Boucher ( Beauport—Limoilou, QC) and Kelly Block (Saskatoon—Rosetown—Biggar, Sask) when the committee was formed, they were substituted with other Conservative members including Ed Fast (Abbotsford, BC) who became very active, Hon. Maxime Bernier (Beauce, QC) who became acting chair at one point, as well as Brent Rathgeber (Edmonton—St. Albert, AB), Daryl Kramp (Prince Edward—Hastings, ON), Hon. Michael D. Chong (Wellington—Halton Hills, ON), Leon Benoit (Vegreville—Wainwright, AB), Mike Wallace (Burlington, ON) and Paul Calandra (Oak Ridges—Markham, ON).

Updated: Members of Canada's Federal Parliament I have met

I have updated the page listing the MPs I have met with the members of the C-32 legislative committee that were present on March 8'th when I spoke to the committee.

Around the table it was:

Acting chair: Hon. Maxime Bernier (Chair Gordon Brown was away due to a death in his family)

Liberals: Pablo Rodriguez, Marc Garneau, Hon. Dan McTeague

Bloc: Carole Lavallée, Serge Cardin

NDP: Charlie Angus

Witnesses: David Fewer and I

Conservative: Ed Fast, Peter Braid, Dean Del Mastro, Mike Lake

Bill C-32 legislative committee has been struck.

A report from the Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs lists the 11 members of the new Legislative Committee on Bill C-32 as follows:

Charlie Angus (Timmins—James Bay, NDP)
Kelly Block (Saskatoon—Rosetown—Biggar, Conservative)
Sylvie Boucher (Beauport—Limoilou, Conservative)
Peter Braid (Kitchener—Waterloo, Conservative)
Serge Cardin (Sherbrooke, Bloc Québécois)
Dean Del Mastro (Peterborough, Conservative)
Marc Garneau (Westmount—Ville-Marie, Liberal)
Mike Lake (Edmonton—Mill Woods—Beaumont, Conservative)
Carole Lavallée (Saint-Bruno—Saint-Hubert, Bloc Québécois)
Dan McTeague (Pickering—Scarborough East, Liberal)
Pablo Rodriguez (Honoré-Mercier, Liberal)

Addition (via twitter): Gordon Brown (Leeds—Grenville, Conservative) has been named Chair

Parliamentary week in review: December 3 - 7

Previous review: Nov 26-30

Note: I am only doing specific keyword searches against the Hansard. If you notice something interesting that I missed, please comment!

December 4, 2007

IT World Canada: Industry Canada disappoints anti-TPM petitioners

An article by Rafael Ruffolo in ComputerWorld Canada discusses the recent government reply to our Petition for IT property rights. This article quotes me from an interview this morning.

Please note: We always appreciate more signatures to the petition so that we can continue to have batches tabled in parliament, giving the government the opportunity to actually provide a useful response.

Prime Minister Harper presents new Ministry

Prime Minister Harper presents new Ministry (See Press release). Changes include past Heritage Minister Bev Oda moving to Minister of International Cooperation, past Industry Minister Maxime Bernier moving to Minister of Foreign Affairs, with Honourable Josée Verner taking over Heritage and Honourable Jim Prentice taking over Industry.

Behind the Scenes of Canada's Movie Piracy Bill

Michael Geist's weekly Law Bytes column (Toronto Star, MG's website) uses documents obtained under the Access to Information Act to provide a behind the scenes look at Canada's new movie piracy bill. The documents reveal that the bill is based largely on draft legislation directly provided by the industry and that the Minister of Canadian Heritage was advised by department officials that there was little evidence that the proposal would prove more effective than current Canadian law.

Syndicate content