Election 2008: Past members of Industry committee

  • James Rajotte (Edmonton—Leduc, Conservative, chair) re-elected
  • Paule Brunelle (Trois-Rivières, Bloc, co-chair) re-elected
  • Dan McTeague (Pickering—Scarborough East, Liberal, co-chair) re-elected
  • André Arthur (Portneuf—Jacques-Cartier, Independent) re-elected
  • Scott Brison (Kings—Hants, Liberal) re-elected
  • Colin Carrie (Oshawa, Conservative) re-elected
  • Mark Eyking (Sydney—Victoria, Liberal) re-elected
  • Peggy Nash (Parkdale—High Park, NDP) lost to Liberal Gerard Kennedy
  • Raymond Simard (Saint Boniface, Liberal) lost to Conservative James Bezan
  • Bruce Stanton (Simcoe North, Conservative) re-elected
  • Dave Van Kesteren (Chatham-Kent—Essex, Conservative) re-elected
  • Robert Vincent (Shefford, Bloc) re-elected

Service providers must beware informed consumers

CBC's Peter Nowak interviews Liberal Scott Brison, incumbent MP for Kings-Hants in Nova Scotia. Brison is now the industry critic, the Liberals' counterpoint to Minister of Industry Jim Prentice.

Liberal shadow cabinet.

Last week the Liberal party announced their new shadow cabinet. Mauril Bélanger (Ottawa Vanier) replaces Tina Keeper (Churchill) as Heritage Critic, while Scott Brison (Kings—Hants) remains Industry Critic.

Counterfeiting and Piracy are theft (NOT!)

As parliament was being recessed for the summer, James Rajotte stood up as the Chair of the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology to table their latest report very embarrassingly titled Counterfeiting and Piracy are theft. See Michael Geist's article Industry Committee Demands a Canadian DMCA.

While I am obviously going to send a copy of my article Jefferson Debate: A Godwin's law for copyright discussions to each member, we clearly have a lot of work ahead of us to educate members of parliament on the basics of these issues. If you are in (or live near) the riding of any of these MPs, please make sure you set up a meeting in their constituency office this summer!

Shadow Cabinet announced

Full details are at

The main ones of interest to us :
Tina Keeper gets Heritage.
Scott Brison gets Industry.

Also possibly of interest :
Belinda Stronach gets "Competitiveness and the New Economy".
Ujjal Dosinjh gets Foreign Affairs.
Navdeep Bains gets International Trade.
Raymond Simard gets Treasury Board.

I'm sure they are all keen to hear how we feel about copyright reform...

Election 2006: Kings--Hants

Election 2006: Please add comments to discuss riding specific activities, links to candidate information, etc.

Incumbent information

Kings–Hants / Kings–Hants
MP: Hon. Scott Brison (Parliamentary Internet)

CIPPIC replies: Kings--Hants Green Party candidate

Received from Kevin Stacey:

Music File-sharing: What is your position on the issue of file-sharing in Canada--should it be illegal?

;:Sharing files is not illegal ^× reproducing copyrighted materials without permission and distributing them is. File sharing should not be prohibited, as it is simple transmission of information.

;:The Green Party believes that copyright violators should be punished appropriately under existing law.

Technological Protection of Copyrighted Materials: What is your position on using legislation to prohibit circumvention of TPMs?

;:The protection of copyrighted material is a legal matter, to be pursued by legal means.

Syndicate content