St. John's East

Bill C-11 house debate day 7

On December 12, 2011 we had the seventh time when the House of Commons debated Bill C-11 (at Second Reading). I didn't write about the 6'th time as it was simply a vote on an amendment that was deferred from the 5'th day of debate.

The debate started with Mr. Paul Calandra (Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Canadian Heritage, CPC, MP for Oak Ridges—Markham) giving a short promotion of the bill and then moving a motion "That this question be now put."

Michael Geist: The Copyright MPs

Michael Geist has identified a group of 27 MPs (nine percent of all MPs) who share two key attributes - they won their riding by 10 percent or less in the last election and their riding is home to a university. The combination is important since it is these MPs - not the very safe Jim Prentice - who will face the consequences of the Prentice bill that will harm a generation well versed in digital technologies, social networks, and the Internet.

MPs Not Running In Next Election: 25

According to the Hill Times, the following current MPs will not be running in next election. There are 7 vacancies expected by end of summer, with 5 after byelection. Many believe that narrow partisan reasons were used to not call the remaining 5 byelections to happen at the same time.

MPs retiring and Vacant seats

Hill Times reporter Abbas Rana provided a table in this week's Hill Times listing the 15 MPs that have already announced they will not be running in the next election, as well as the 2 vacant seats.

1. Liberal MP Ray Ronin (Nickel Belt)
2. Liberal MP Brenda Chamberlain (Guelph)
3. Liberal MP Stephen Owen (Vancouver Quadra)
4. Liberal MP Bill Graham (Toronto Centre)
5. Liberal MP Paul Martin (LaSalle-Emard)
6. Liberal MP Nancy Karetak-Lindell (Nunavut)
7. Liberal MP Andy Scott (Fredericton)
8. Liberal MP Paul Steckle (Huron-Bruce)
9. Liberal MP Joe McGuire (Egmont)
10. Liberal MP Jim Peterson (Willowdale)
11. Conservative MP Brian Fritzpatrick (Prince Albert)
12. Conservative MP Ken Epp (Edmonton-Sherwood Park)
13. Conservative MP John Williams (Edmonton-St. Albert)
14. Conservative MP Normal Doyle (St. John's East)
15. NDP MP Bill Blaikie (Elmwood-Transcona)

Vacant seats:

1. Bloc MP Yvan Loubier (Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot)
2. Liberal MP Jean Lapierre (Outremont)

Joseph R. (Joe) Comuzzi (Thunder Bay--Superior North) is expected not to run, but has not yet made an announcement.

Stephen Eli Harris (St. John's East, Green Party of Canada)


Thank you for writing and requesting information regarding Green Party Policy. Please find attached the answers to the concerns you've raised.

Also, I invite you to check out the Blog I've created for the Green Party in Newfoundland and Labrador:

Thank you,

Stephen Eli Harris
Green Party Candidate (St. John's East)

Election 2006: St. John's East

Election 2006: Please add comments to discuss riding specific activities, links to candidate information, etc.

Incumbent information

St. John's East / St. John's-Est
MP: Norman Doyle (Parliamentary Internet)

CIPPIC replies: St. John's North NDP candidate

Received from stjohnsnorth -at-

;:Jack Layton, the federal NDP leader, is answering all questionnaires on behalf of the candidates and the party.
;:Thank you for your interest and your email.

CIPPIC replies: St. John's North Liberal candidate

;:June 15, 2004

;:Dear Ms. Lawson;

;:On behalf of Liberal Candidate for St. John's North, Walter Noel, this will acknowledge receipt of your email and request for a response from our candidate.

;:Our candidate appreciates your taking the time to share with his office these areas of interest. We understand that the federal Liberal Party has provided a response to this important matter in both English and French. Mr. Noel would like to indicate his support for the federal government's position with respect to these issues related to the Internet and new technologies.

;:All the best ...

Syndicate content